Absentee voting for Aug. 16 primary underway

Absentee voting for Wyoming primaries for the Jackson council, Teton County Board of County Commissioners, several state legislative seats and Wyoming’s lone U.S. House seat began at 8 a.m. July 1 and will continue until 5 p.m. Aug. 15.

Those who have already requested absentee ballots should have received them by July 7. A qualified Wyoming voter may apply for an absentee ballot at any time during the calendar year in which the election is held, but not on the day of the election.

Registered voters can request an absentee ballot in person, by mail or over the phone with the Teton County clerk. The request form can be found online on the Teton County website atTetonWyo.org/cc.

Completed forms can be returned via mail to P.O. Box 1727, Jackson, WY 83001, in person at 200 S. Willow St. or by email to elections@tetonwyo.org.

In order to count, all absentee ballots must be received in the clerk’s office by 7 p.m. the day of the election, Aug. 16.

Teton County has an absentee polling place located in the basement of the Teton County Administration Building at 200 S. Willow St. Ballots can also be dropped off at the clerk’s office or mailed to the P.O. box above.

Those using FedEx or UPS to mail in their vote should send ballots to the physical address, 200 S. Willow St., Jackson, WY 83001.

People who need to register to vote must do so 14 days before the election and be ready to vote that day.

Absentee voting for the general election begins at 8 a.m. Friday, Sept. 23, and will end at 5 p.m. Monday, Nov. 7.

Contact John Spina at 732-5911 or town@jhnewsandguide.com.